Documents to download

On 31 July 2020, the Prime Minister, Boris Johnson, announced 36 new life peers. The announcement was split into two lists; one containing ‘political peerages’ and one containing ‘dissolution peerages’, which typically follow the dissolution of parliament in advance of a general election.

The two lists contained:

  • 19 Conservative peers;
  • 5 Labour peers;
  • Four crossbench peers; and
  • Eight others, including a DUP peer and five ex-Labour MPs who will sit as non-affiliated peers.

Of the 36, 18 were former MPs (50%) and 11 were women (31%).

Subsequently, on 15 October 2020, it was announced that Keith Stewart would join the House of Lords following his appointment as the new Advocate General for Scotland.

With the addition of the new announcements, there will have been 1,500 life peers created under the provisions of the Life Peerages Act 1958.

This briefing provides information and statistics on life peers created under the Act. This includes breakdowns by prime minister and by decade. It also contains a list of every life peer announced since the powers were introduced.

This briefing does not include information on the Lords Spiritual, hereditary peers or peers appointed under the Appellate Jurisdiction Act 1876 (which related to the appointment of ‘Law Lords’ to the House); information on these can be found in the following Library Briefings:

More information about the Life Peerages Act and the first life peers can be found in these briefings:

Documents to download

Related posts

  • Members of the House of Commons may now vote by proxy in certain circumstances. In contrast, the practice has been prohibited in the House of Lords for over 150 years. What is the background to the rule against proxy voting in the second chamber?

  • This article analyses the 36 new peerages announced by the Prime Minister on 31 July 2020. It provides statistics on the background, gender and party affiliation of the new peers. The article also compares the number and gender balance of peers created by Boris Johnson with those of the former Prime Ministers Tony Blair, Gordon Brown, David Cameron and Theresa May.