Documents to download

The Intelligence and Security Committee has responsibility for the oversight of the UK intelligence community. The Intelligence Services Act 1994 created the committee, with the Justice and Security Act 2013 extending its powers and remit.

Nine parliamentarians from both Houses make up the committee. Ministers, however, are not able to join. The current members of the committee are: Dominic Grieve (Chair, Conservative); Richard Benyon (Conservative); Stewart Hosie (SNP); Caroline Flint (Labour); David Hanson (Labour); Lord Janvrin (Crossbench); Kevan Jones (Labour); Marquess of Lothian (Conservative); and Keith Simpson (Conservative).

The committee’s role is to examine the policies, expenditure, administration and operations of the Security Service (MI5); the Secret Intelligence Service (SIS); and the Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ). It also scrutinises the work of the Joint Intelligence Organisation and the National Security Secretariat in the Cabinet Office; Defence Intelligence in the Ministry of Defence; and the Office for Security and Counter-Terrorism in the Home Office.

The committee sets its own agenda and work programme. It produces an annual report, which, following redactions, is laid before both Houses. The report, along with the Government’s response, is then debated. The most recent annual report (2017–18) sets out the work conducted by the committee between April 2017 and July 2018. It includes information on: the detainee inquiry; diversity and inclusion; the terror attacks inquiry; Russia; Syria; committee resources; and other committee work.

In March 2019, the committee announced its next inquiry will focus on national security issues relating to China. Amongst other issues the inquiry will examine the role of Huawei in the UK’s telecommunications infrastructure. The committee has also recently made a statement on 5G suppliers, arguing that “a decision must be made as a matter of urgency”.

Documents to download

Related posts

  • UK position on foreign affairs

    In 2021 the government published an integrated review of security, defence, development and foreign policy. It published a refreshed review in March 2023 to take account of developments in foreign affairs over the preceding two years. The government has since published a number of policy papers and strategies to complement the refreshed review. In addition, Lord Cameron of Chipping Norton was appointed as foreign secretary in November 2023.

    UK position on foreign affairs
  • AUKUS security partnership

    AUKUS is a trilateral security partnership between the United Kingdom, the United States of America and Australia agreed in 2021. It consists of two key pillars and has been designed to allow the three nations to cooperate closely on key defence capabilities, including submarine technology and cutting-edge advanced capabilities such as artificial intelligence and quantum technologies.

    AUKUS security partnership
  • Ministers in the House of Lords: Role and accountability to Parliament

    Ministers are needed in the House of Lords to take legislation through the House and answer for the government during questions and debates. Some cabinet ministers are appointed from the Lords. For example, the current foreign secretary is Lord Cameron of Chipping Norton. The leader of the House of Lords is always a member of the Lords. This briefing looks at the role of ministers in the House of Lords and how they are scrutinised.

    Ministers in the House of Lords: Role and accountability to Parliament