Documents to download

On 25 November 2018, the UK and the EU concluded a withdrawal agreement setting out the terms of the UK’s departure from the EU and a political declaration on the framework for their future relationship, as provided for under article 50(2) of the Treaty on European Union. Under the terms of article 50 of the Treaty on European Union, the UK is set to leave the EU on 29 March 2019, two years from the date of giving notice of its intention to leave. Following its ratification, the withdrawal agreement would become a legally binding international treaty. The political declaration sets out a framework for the future relationship between the UK and the EU. The precise terms of the future relationship can only be negotiated once the UK has left the EU and become a third country. Formal negotiations can then begin before a legally binding agreement (or agreements) can be reached.

Documents to download

Related posts

  • UK position on foreign affairs

    In 2021 the government published an integrated review of security, defence, development and foreign policy. It published a refreshed review in March 2023 to take account of developments in foreign affairs over the preceding two years. The government has since published a number of policy papers and strategies to complement the refreshed review. In addition, Lord Cameron of Chipping Norton was appointed as foreign secretary in November 2023.

    UK position on foreign affairs
  • Ministers in the House of Lords: Role and accountability to Parliament

    Ministers are needed in the House of Lords to take legislation through the House and answer for the government during questions and debates. Some cabinet ministers are appointed from the Lords. For example, the current foreign secretary is Lord Cameron of Chipping Norton. The leader of the House of Lords is always a member of the Lords. This briefing looks at the role of ministers in the House of Lords and how they are scrutinised.

    Ministers in the House of Lords: Role and accountability to Parliament