Documents to download

This Briefing provides summary information on the EU’s trading relationships with each country which is a member of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and with the five BRICS countries. However, the Briefing does not include information on the trading relationship with the OECD countries who are members of the European Free Trade Association, as (with the exception of Switzerland) these form part of the European Economic Area.

The EU has a World Trade Organisation recognised ‘regional trade agreement’ with seven of these countries: four involving free trade agreements extending to goods and services; two free trade agreements focused on goods; and one a customs union (Turkey).

For each, the Briefing highlights:

  • the type of agreement in place (if any);
  • the World Trade Organisation definition of any agreement;
  • information on when agreements were signed (and, where possible, how long negotiations took);
  • some key points about the agreements or the countries’ trading relationship with the EU;
  • the status of their trading relationship; and
  • a snapshot of their trading relationship (eg trade values and types of goods imported or exported).

Documents to download

Related posts

  • The next round of UK-EU negotiations is due to start on 28 September 2020. The House of Lords is due to hold a take-note debate on the UK’s approach to negotiating the future relationship with the EU on 23 September 2020. This article gives an overview of the UK’s approach to its future relationship with the EU and the progress of negotiations so far.

  • In May 2019, the House of Lords EU Committee published a report into the future of UK-EU surface transport links. Continuing disagreement between UK and EU negotiators over aspects of the future relationship in transport matters has helped put the brakes on progress in the current negotiations, with talks on the future of road haulage rights in particular reportedly at a standstill.

  • After the Brexit transition period, the UK will no longer participate in the Dublin system, an EU arrangement for dealing with asylum applications. This article looks at the findings of a House of Lords committee report that considered the impact of Brexit on refugee and asylum policy, and sets out what has happened since the report was published in October 2019.