Documents to download

This Note considers committees in the House of Lords which deal with public matters. These can be categorised as either ‘investigative’ committees (a select or joint committee established to consider matters of public policy—either permanent or ad hoc) or ‘legislative scrutiny’ committees (considering draft, primary or secondary legislation, including private member’s bills—either as a standing, public bill, select or joint committee). Each type of committee is composed of a limited number of members of the House.

Legislative committees should be distinguished from a committee of the whole House (which takes place in the Chamber) or a grand committee (which usually takes place in the Moses Room). Both act as the committee stage of a bill but can involve all members of the House if they choose to participate in the proceedings. The vast majority of public bills are considered by the House in this manner. Different types of legislative committee have periodically been used either to save time on the floor of the House or to allow more detailed examination of bills.

This Note does not discuss select committees which deal with private business (including personal bill, standing orders (private bills) and hybrid instruments committees) or the domestic and procedural affairs of the House, except the Liaison Committee.

Documents to download

Related posts

  • Hereditary By-elections: Results

    Hereditary peer by-elections are held within the House of Lords to replace excepted hereditary peers who have retired or died. This Lords Library Briefing provides a list of hereditary peers’ by-election results since the passing of the House of Lords Act 1999, including information on turn out and the number of candidates.

    Hereditary By-elections: Results
  • House of Lords appointments: should the process be reviewed?

    Since Boris Johnson became Prime Minister in 2019, the Government has made 83 appointments to the House of Lords. The Government has argued these appointments have been necessary to refresh the House. However, concerns have been expressed about the number of new appointments and the increase in the number of Conservative members. On 18 November 2021, the House of Lords will debate whether the process by which appointments are made should be reviewed.

    House of Lords appointments: should the process be reviewed?